Author Topic: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas  (Read 216 times)

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« on: April 16, 2018, 09:04:59 AM »
I'm applying mods to Fallout New Vegas running in The Porting Kit. There's no problem with the game itself. I have Mod Organizer installed and running perfectly, so I can easily install mods. From Mod Organizer, I can run the New Vegas Script Enhancer (NVSE). I can also run FNVEdit and Wrye Flash (the Wrye Bash version for New Vegas). However, if I try and run LOOT either directly or from within Mod Organizer, I can't see any text.

LOOT runs and I get the normal LOOT window with entries, just no text. I've tried selecting text and I get the selection colour change, but still can't see any text. I don't know if the text is missing or whether it's the same colour as the background. I noticed that LOOT is the only one of the apps I've mentioned to use a coloured bacground. The others are standard Windows dialogs. Am I missing a DLL somewhere?

Thanks

Bob

Offline vitormm

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Porter
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2018, 01:18:20 PM »
Hey Bob!

Could you please perform a Debug in the port and run LOOT while in Debug so I can check its log?

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 01:31:53 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Here's what I did.

Started Porting Kit and went to my library.
Right click on the game and select Debug. Ignored the error about the Porting Kit running.
Selected C drive. Navigated to Program Files\LOOT and double clicked on LOOT.EXE
Watched as LOOT loaded and the interface came up without text.
Exited LOOT and exported the debug log (attached).

If you need more, just ask.

Bob


Offline vitormm

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Porter
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2018, 12:56:21 AM »
Ignored the error about the Porting Kit running.

Which error? If it said that the port was already running, then the log may be incomplete.

I couldn't find any error related with a missing DLL, but that may be the reason for it.

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2018, 01:00:06 AM »
As soon as I click Debug, the Log window opens and I get a popup with this
"ERROR, tried to run command debug when the wrapper was already running.  Please make sure the wrapper is not running in order to do this."

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2018, 02:19:15 AM »
I downloaded the latest development version and copied over all the files but got the same result: no text or invisible text.

I tried using the Mac drivers instead of X11 but that made no difference.

I did notice that if I clicked and dragged over the window, something was selected. So I did that and then copied it and pasted it into a text editor. The text is there, but for some reason, I can't see it.

I've attached a screenshot of the window so you can see exactly what I'm seeing.

Offline vitormm

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Porter
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2018, 04:27:43 PM »
As soon as I click Debug, the Log window opens and I get a popup with this
"ERROR, tried to run command debug when the wrapper was already running.  Please make sure the wrapper is not running in order to do this."

Try this: before launching the port in Debug mode, right-click the port in the library and press "Force Close". It will terminate any processes related with the port, so you can start the Debug mode with no problems.

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2018, 04:41:49 PM »
After the Force Close, there was no error. Debug Log attached.

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2018, 04:42:45 PM »
After the Force Close, there was no error. Debug Log attached.

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2018, 04:43:18 PM »
Sorry about the duplicate post.

Offline bobbd2000

  • Gamer
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
Re: No Text for LOOT under New Vegas
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2018, 10:53:43 PM »
Well, I got LOOT working but not the current version. I had to go back to 0.9.2 which is the last version that did not require the MSVC 2015 x86 Redistributable. Since LOOT has been around for a number of years, and I've used it older versions under Windows, I feel quite comfortable using this version.

Thanks again for all efforts to look into this.