PORTING COMMUNITY

Games => Ports Discussions => Topic started by: paulthetall on July 23, 2018, 09:02:59 AM

Title: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: paulthetall on July 23, 2018, 09:02:59 AM
Here a quick read me first Steam games guide to solve some “known" issues.

MUST KNOW!!
When Porting Kit installs a Steam game, actually only creates the Wrapper and installs the Windows Steam into that wrapper. The game install itself happens in Steam. In the Installation process, The Steam window login screen may appear. When that happens, DON’T LOGIN, but instead close the window so portingkit can finalise the installation. Thats the most inportant step.

Troubleshooting:
1. Can’t click in the Steam window to enter username or password?
That happens a lot, I don’t know exactly the cause, but you can simply fix it by selecting the steam login window and move it a bit and click in the window again.

2. The Steam Window doesn’t appear, nothing happens!
If the install process has been done properly steam may have a process running which prevents it from launch. In that case in porting Kit go to top bar —> tools —> kill all wine proocesses and then try launch steam again. Worse case scenario restart your Mac. Still not working? Trash the wrapper and reinstall. Still not working let us know.

3. After login into Steam the Store/Library Window doesn’t appear, nothing happens!
Check in the top bar and see if the Steam icon is there and doubble click it to popup the Steam Window.

Hope this helps most common issues. If these steps don’t work, let us know.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Alicia on December 01, 2018, 05:15:30 AM
I'm having the issue with the Steam Window not appearing when I try to install The Elder Scrolls IV - Oblivion.  It keeps giving me the error "Something wrong happened while installing Steam.  Do you want to perform the installation manually by selecting an installer?"  I've already tried Tools > Kill All Wine Processes to no avail.  Please help!
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: paulthetall on December 06, 2018, 09:32:33 AM
Thats a seperate issue which is goinf on after a change by steam for the game. Same kinda issue is for steam version of steam version Fallout Vegas.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: vBaRRRRon on December 06, 2018, 04:26:39 PM
So is FNV not playable at the moment?

I've gotten it to load the startup but the game just loads into a black screen no matter which settings I choose.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: vitormm on December 09, 2018, 03:08:43 PM
So is FNV not playable at the moment?

I've gotten it to load the startup but the game just loads into a black screen no matter which settings I choose.

Just updated the wrapper. Could you please try the latest version?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: James1989 on December 16, 2018, 04:11:46 PM
Hi,

I've installed the wrapper and am able to get to the steam logon screen and can now see the application in finder etc. however when i log on to steam nothing seems to happen. The steam application seems to run but just as an empty window! Any ideas?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: vitormm on December 16, 2018, 04:35:30 PM
Hi,

I've installed the wrapper and am able to get to the steam logon screen and can now see the application in finder etc. however when i log on to steam nothing seems to happen. The steam application seems to run but just as an empty window! Any ideas?

You can go to your library and download the game. Until we start to use the unofficial wrapper with the newest WS10 engines, only the Steam library works in Steam ports.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: James Hirst on December 17, 2018, 10:11:57 PM
Hi,

I've installed the wrapper and am able to get to the steam logon screen and can now see the application in finder etc. however when i log on to steam nothing seems to happen. The steam application seems to run but just as an empty window! Any ideas?

You can go to your library and download the game. Until we start to use the unofficial wrapper with the newest WS10 engines, only the Steam library works in Steam ports.

Thanks for responding. I'm still struggling though. When i go to my library in Porting Kit i don't get the option to download, i only get the option to 'Play'. Not sure what this means.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on December 20, 2018, 03:50:03 AM
You can go to your library and download the game. Until we start to use the unofficial wrapper with the newest WS10 engines, only the Steam library works in Steam ports.

Unfortunately after the most recent Steam update only WineCX18.1.0 has a working Steam Store for the moment until someone/myself is able to extract the additional patch/patches that are needed to get it working.


Thanks for responding. I'm still struggling though. When i go to my library in Porting Kit i don't get the option to download, i only get the option to 'Play'. Not sure what this means.

You click "Play" to launch the Wrapper/Port then install the game from your Steam Library.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: nitecat360 on December 26, 2018, 12:22:04 AM
Any solution for the error message saying "invalid platform"?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on December 27, 2018, 11:55:03 PM
Any solution for the error message saying "invalid platform"?

Sounds like you installed a 64Bit game into a 32Bit wrapper
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Arkhia on December 28, 2018, 02:29:35 AM
I can get to the installing after launching the stream, but it sends a message saying it has an error of an encrypted file, two patch files appear in the folder and nothing happens. Any idea what could cause this?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on December 29, 2018, 08:04:25 PM
I can get to the installing after launching the stream, but it sends a message saying it has an error of an encrypted file, two patch files appear in the folder and nothing happens. Any idea what could cause this?

What were you attempting to install when you had the error?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Arkhia on January 03, 2019, 02:15:23 AM
It was Mass Effect. Now I solved this problem, but steam says the server is unavailable. I've kinda given up on this game though, nothing is working...
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on January 03, 2019, 05:03:26 PM
It was Mass Effect. Now I solved this problem, but steam says the server is unavailable. I've kinda given up on this game though, nothing is working...

Did you install Steam manually?
The content servers are unreachable error is usually handled by PortingKit directly / use winetricks to install steam or manually edit the config file to allow steam to download content.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: carl on January 14, 2019, 06:43:23 AM
Hi there,

I only successfully installed Age of Empires 3 on my macbook once. I let my boyfriend play on my mac; now I'm having the same issues I had before I could get the porting kit to work. The issue is: I download everything, the installation seems fine, I open Steam and it seems to run smoothly, I install AoE3, enter my product code, then the game launches. It runs for maybe 3 secs then minimizes. Then I get an error screen saying something went wrong with AoE3. I have uninstalled then reinstalled everything and nothing seems to work. Can you please help?

Also a kind of unrelated/related question: my laptop has a DVD port and my boyfriend's does not. Does that effect the porting kit's success for Steam games in any way?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Jackson on January 19, 2019, 03:16:58 PM
The Steam Build 2 won't show up after I installed it and what can I do with the wrapper? Thx
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: scrubof_clubz on February 15, 2019, 04:11:25 AM
I just ported the age of empires III collection from steam and whenever I try to open up the Asian Dynasty's version the screen goes completely black but it does have sound. The other two (AOEIII & Warchiefs) run completely fine. Does anyone know whats wrong and how to fix it?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Dwaeq on February 16, 2019, 02:08:53 AM
I successfully login into steam and is now in the store page, but for some reason its not loading. I first tried Steambuild 1, which didn't work, then I tried Steambuild 2, but it still didn't work.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on February 17, 2019, 01:00:00 AM
I successfully login into steam and is now in the store page, but for some reason its not loading. I first tried Steambuild 1, which didn't work, then I tried Steambuild 2, but it still didn't work.

The Steam store will only function if you enable "Use Wineskin Unofficial Wrapper" and change the Engine to WS10WineCX18.1.0 that will give you a working Steam store but only functions on OSX10.9 and above due to OSX10.8 only supporting TLS1.0.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Casper on February 17, 2019, 06:55:33 PM
I just ported the age of empires III collection from steam and whenever I try to open up the Asian Dynasty's version the screen goes completely black but it does have sound. The other two (AOEIII & Warchiefs) run completely fine. Does anyone know whats wrong and how to fix it?

I face exactly the same issue. Does anyone know how to fix the issue with asian dynasties?
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Gcenx on February 17, 2019, 07:27:28 PM
I just ported the age of empires III collection from steam and whenever I try to open up the Asian Dynasty's version the screen goes completely black but it does have sound. The other two (AOEIII & Warchiefs) run completely fine. Does anyone know whats wrong and how to fix it?

I face exactly the same issue. Does anyone know how to fix the issue with asian dynasties?

You might want to try a newer Engine version as that might help with the black screen problem. Try WS9WineStaging4.2 or WS9Wine4.2 as see if that solves the issue for you.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Casper on February 18, 2019, 12:17:07 PM
I just ported the age of empires III collection from steam and whenever I try to open up the Asian Dynasty's version the screen goes completely black but it does have sound. The other two (AOEIII & Warchiefs) run completely fine. Does anyone know whats wrong and how to fix it?

I face exactly the same issue. Does anyone know how to fix the issue with asian dynasties?

You might want to try a newer Engine version as that might help with the black screen problem. Try WS9WineStaging4.2 or WS9Wine4.2 as see if that solves the issue for you.

Thanks!
But how do I add a newer engine through the porting kit? The newest I have here is 2.6Steam.
Title: South Park Stick of Truth
Post by: David on March 14, 2019, 03:19:38 PM
The game starts and shows the various logos of the production teams but then just goes to a black screen and I can't get any further.
Title: AoE III not even running now
Post by: scrubof_clubz on March 15, 2019, 07:39:49 AM
With the new porting kit update, whenever i try to play AoE III it says that it has an incompatible windows version and when i click yes to "update the port windows to keep steam working" it says Error and that it "tried to run command WWS-winetrick when the wrapper is already running" Nothing else is running in the background and i tried deleting and redownloading  everything but it still has the same issue. Is anyone else having the same issue and know how to fix this? Thx it will be much appreciated
Title: Re: AoE III not even running now
Post by: Gcenx on March 15, 2019, 03:27:38 PM
With the new porting kit update, whenever i try to play AoE III it says that it has an incompatible windows version and when i click yes to "update the port windows to keep steam working" it says Error and that it "tried to run command WWS-winetrick when the wrapper is already running" Nothing else is running in the background and i tried deleting and redownloading  everything but it still has the same issue. Is anyone else having the same issue and know how to fix this? Thx it will be much appreciated

Reboot your Mac and try making the wrapper over, if it still fails after that try enabling “Unofficial wrapper” in the PortingKit preferences then try again.

I say that as I don’t experience any issues with my unofficial wrapper with the current version of PortingKit
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: garrett on March 19, 2019, 12:16:30 AM
When i press install on the forest it does not work the whole steam freezes
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: garrett on March 19, 2019, 12:31:33 AM
NVM i got it to install but it opens at closes quickly when using 32 bit, it says 64 bit is unavailable.
Title: Re: STEAM Games Ports Read me First!!
Post by: Martin on March 19, 2019, 08:48:12 PM
I’m having the same issue with Asian Dynasties. I can still get it to run on the Windows XP port, but I don’t know how long that will work as it technically shouldn’t even work now.

I remember the announcement when this issue was fixed for AOE III and Warchiefs following migration to the Windows 7 port after Steam abandoned XP, but perhaps it was never fixed for the Asian Dynasties pack?